‘Art in ME’ 2021 awards announced

Event has passed

Boothbay Region Art Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Art in ME juried exhibition. Full and part time artists from the state of Maine were invited to submit two pieces to be considered for the exhibition. In lieu of a physical reception this year, prizes were announced on Facebook on Oct. 16.

Keith Oehmig, Owner and Director of the Wiscasset Bay Gallery Served as juror. The first part of the completion involved selecting 68 artworks out of the 108 submitted. Keith was looking for artists who had an original point of view, masterful use of materials and well composed compositions. Submissions came from all over the state with the bulk coming from the Mid Coast. The quality in this show is the best that has been seen in years.

Prizes totaling  $1,600 were awarded to seven artists. Many thanks to the Butke Gallery for their kind donation of $500 towards the prizes.

The winners are: First Prize/$500: Winslow Myers of Nobleboro for “Overpass and River;” Second Prize/$400 Andre Benoit, Boothbay Harbor, “Red Mitten and Shoes;” Third Prize/$300: Mark Coates, Boothbay Harbor, “Drydock.”

Oehmig awarded four honorable mentions, each with a prize of $100: Marcia Brandwein, Pemaquid, “In the Distance;” Sarah Wilde, Walpole, “Coveside Field;” Cynthia Smith, Gorham, “Unintended Baggage; and Ramone Hanley-Warren, Edgecomb, for “A Moment in Time.”

The Art in ME exhibition runs through Nov. 14. The gallery, located at 1 Townsend Ave., Boothbay Harbor is open Thursday through Sunday from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.

For more information, call 207-633-2703 or visit www.booth bayartists.org.

Event Date: 

Thu, 10/21/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, 10/22/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, 10/23/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, 10/24/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, 10/28/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, 10/29/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, 10/30/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, 10/31/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, 11/04/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, 11/05/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, 11/06/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, 11/07/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, 11/11/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, 11/12/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, 11/13/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, 11/14/2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm

Address: 

1 Townsend Avenue
Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
United States