Rines, Andersson, Colby elected Wiscasset selectmen

Posted:  Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 9:00pm

Voters in Wiscasset have kept Ben Rines Jr. and Judy Colby on the select board and added Kim Andersson. It was a five-way race for three seats.

In results at Wiscasset Community Center Tuesday night, Andersson and Colby each got 489 votes, Rines 483, David Cherry 359, and Jennifer Hanley 329.

Voters kept Judy Flanagan on the budget committee with 645 votes and Phil Di Vece on the water district with 709.

Wiscasset voters approved the municipal and school budgets by comfortable margins. A total of 939 voters, or 32.4 percent of registered voters, cast ballots, Town Clerk Linda Perry said.

The only school committee candidate on the ballot, Indriani H. Demers, garnered 569 votes. A write-in campaign brought in 49 votes for Desiree Bailey; 40 for Craig Wooster; and 18 for Valerie St. Pierre. Bailey will serve.

The three-year budget committee race, with three open seats and no candidates on the ballot, had numerous write-ins. Dan Averill had three votes. Hanley, Lonnie Kennedy-Patterson, Bob Blagden, Sherri Dunbar, Tony True, Ray Soule, Nicole Viele, Sue Greene, Stephen Wallace, and Colby each got two votes.

For the two-year budget committee slot, Averill, Soule, Glen Haggett, George Greene and Pat Greene got two votes each.

Question 1, the school budget article, passed 560 yes, 329 no, and 49 blanks.