Maine Drama Festival 2020

BRHS, WMHS place third, fourth

Tue, 03/10/2020 - 8:00am

Boothbay Region High School placed third overall at the 2020 Maine Drama Festival for “War Letters,” directed by Mary Miller and performed by Grace Campbell, Nataleigh Blackman and Journey Bennett.

The three actors received awards for their character portrayals of Lillian, Karen and Mary, respectively. The cast also received a Judges’ Ensemble Commendation Award. BRHS competed at Yarmouth High School Saturday, March 7.

Said Miller: “The students were awesome! They held their own with all the bigger schools. All three received acting awards, and they also won a special commendation for ensemble work. There was not a dry eye in the audience. Though our school and cast was small, it was a mighty performance ... the all-girl crew from lights to backstage were outstanding. They all represented our school both dramatically and graciously! I couldn't be more proud of them.”.

The cast of the one-act play “Desdemona in the Afterlife,” representing Wiscasset Middle High School, won fourth place overall among the B category schools. The students performed on Friday, March 6 at Camden Hills Regional High School.

Student awards:  Naomi Wood - All Festival Cast; two Judges’ Commendations for Fight Choreography to Naomi Wood and Olivia Demeny; and a Technical Element for the Tree Costume: Lily Yeaton, Maxx Syrjala, Katelyn Long, Ty DeLong, Kaydin Nichols, Olivia Demeny, Naomi Wood and Megan Syrjala.

English teacher and drama teacher/coach Jean Phillips said, “The students were excited and nervous but prepared to perform. They nailed it and received many compliments.”

Phillips added the judges said the “reveal of the tree was surprising.” How so? For starters, Lily Yeaton was the tree. “What was surprising was that you couldn't see her face until the big reveal – and she didn't move – at all,” Phillips said.  “The makeup was extraordinary!”

The festival is held every March as a way of promoting interest in theater and drama for Maine high school students.