Tickets available for Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame banquet Oct. 8

Fri, 09/16/2022 - 8:15am

The Boothbay Region High School Class C championship football teams of 2001 and 2002 will be inducted into the Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame at the organization’s annual banquet on Saturday, Oct. 8 at 5 p.m. at the Rockland Elks Lodge, 210 Rankin St., Rockland. The meal will be served at 6 p.m. and the program will begin at 7.

Former BRHS athlete Jaelyn Crocker and current BRHS athlete Kayden Ames are also being honored for being among the 10 finalists for the 2022 Student Athlete of the Year Award. And Laurie Smith, a 1986 graduate of Wiscasset High School, will be one of the eight individuals being inducted into the HOF.

Tickets for the event are $30 each For ticket information, email Dave Ames at, Bob Paskal at, or Tom Mellor at or call 691-2770. Payment must be made before Oct. 3.

Besides the BRHS teams, a third team will be honored; the 1970 Medomak Valley High School baseball team which won the state title.

Individual inductees, in addition to Smith, will include Matt Breen of Rockland, Marty Carey of Rockland, Nick DePatsy of Medomak, Richard Harden of Rockland, Kyle O’Bryan of Lincoln Academy, Randy Shrout of Rockland, and Gary Spinney of Camden. Harden and Shrout will be enshrined posthumous.

The physical hall of fame is housed in the Dow Discount Furniture building in Waldoboro.

The Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization formed in the spring of 2003 and became incorporated in 2005. Its mission includes publicly recognizing outstanding athletes from all eras of sports history in Midcoast Maine for their achievements and contributions to athletics whether it be as an athlete, coach or contributor.

For more information, visit the website