WBQX to broadcast high school basketball

First Boothbay game: Dec. 10. First Wiscasset game: Jan. 11.
Posted:  Sunday, December 2, 2018 - 10:00am
Share: 

Frank 106.9 FM, WBQX, will broadcast local high school basketball for a ninth straight year beginning Friday, Dec. 7 when the Lincoln Academy Eagles travel to Rockport to play the Camden Hills Windjammers.

Veteran broadcaster Don Shields returns to lead the coverage, joined by Terry Spear and Chris Seavey for the 34-game regular season schedule that includes calling games from Oceanside, Medomak Valley, Camden Hills, Belfast, Lincoln Academy, Boothbay, Wiscasset, Mt. View and Searsport High Schools.

The station is also planning on broadcasting selected games involving these same schools during the High School Basketball Tournaments from Augusta and Bangor this upcoming February.

All games will be streamed via the FRANK 106.9 Facebook Page at www.mixlr.com/1069bball

Stan Bennett, Operations Manager for Binnie Media Maine is pleased that FRANK 106.9 is continuing our tradition of being the home of High School Basketball in Midcoast Maine. “People are passionate about high school basketball and the response to our coverage from fans and sponsors has been outstanding,” he said.

Shields, who is also the voice of the University of Maine Women’s Basketball team, has been the voice of Midcoast Maine High School sports since 1985, during which time he has called more than 1200 high school games. Spear has been covering basketball for more than 20 years in the Midcoast, Biddeford and Bath-Brunswick markets. Seavey, a former Rockland District High School Standout, has more than a decade of on-air experience.

The complete game schedule

December

Friday, Dec. 7 – Lincoln Academy at Camden Hills boys – 6:15 p.m.; Monday, Dec. 10 – Lisbon at Boothbay boys – 6:45 p.m.; Tuesday, Dec. 11 – Mt. View at Medomak Valley boys – 6:15 p.m.; Friday, Dec. 14 – Camden Hills at Medomak Valley Doubleheader – boys at 5:15 p.m./girls at 7 p.m.; Tuesday, Dec. 18 – Oceanside at Camden Hills boys – 6:15 p.m.; Thursday, Dec. 20 – Bangor Christian at Searsport Doubleheader – girls at 4:45 p.m./boys at 6:30 p.m..; Friday, Dec. 21 – Hermon at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.; Friday, Dec. 28 – Belfast at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 29 – Oceanside at Belfast girls – 4:15 p.m.

January

Wednesday, Jan. 2 – Lincoln Academy at Medomak Valley Doubleheader – girls at 5:15 p.m./boys at 7 p.m.; Thursday, Jan. 3 – Mt. View at Belfast boys – 6:15 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 4 – MDI at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.; Tuesday, Jan. 8 – Mt. View at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.; Thursday, Jan. 10 – Maranacook at Belfast boys – 6:15 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 11 Monmouth at Wiscasset boys – 6:15 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 12 – Ellsworth at Belfast Doubleheader – girls 12:45 p.m./boys 2:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Jan. 15 – Camden Hills at Lincoln Academy boys – 6:15 p.m.; Thursday, Jan. 17 – MCI at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 19 – Medomak Valley at Lincoln Academy Doubleheader – girls at 4:45 p.m./boys at 6:30 p.m.; Monday, Jan. 21– Maranacook at Oceanside girls – 12:45 p.m.; Tuesday, Jan. 22 – Medomak Valley at Camden Hills Doubleheader – girls at 4:45 p.m./boys at 6:30 p.m.; Thursday, Jan. 24Wiscasset at Boothbay girls – 6:45 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 25Boothbay at Wiscasset boys – 6:15 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 26 – PCHS at Searsport boys – 6:15 p.m.; Tuesday, Jan. 29 – Oceanside at Belfast boys – 6:15 p.m.

February

Friday, Feb. 1 – MCI at Oceanside girls – 5:45 p.m.; Tuesday, Feb. 5 – Waterville at Belfast boys – 6:15 p.m.; Thursday, Feb. 7 – Medomak Valley at Oceanside boys – 6:15 p.m. Pre-Lims: Tuesday, Feb. 12 and Wednesday, Feb. 13; Regional Quarterfinals: Friday, Feb. 15 through Tuesday, Feb. 19; Regional Semifinals: Wednesday, Feb. 20 and Thursday, Feb. 21; Regional Finals: Friday, Feb. 22 and Saturday, Feb. 23; State Championship Games: Friday, March 1 and Saturday, March 2.