Boothcasset track

Track teams excel at Class C states, Kayden Ames takes first in discus

Mon, 06/06/2022 - 2:30pm

The Boothcasset track teams finished the season at the Class C state championships in Lewiston June 4. Five boys and three girls advanced to states in individual events and nine boys and six girls to relay events. The boys finished ninth out of 31 teams in points and the girls 15th out of 28 teams.

Coach Nick Scott described the outing as a great conclusion to an amazing season, with Kayden Ames out-throwing all competition in discus for first place.

“Congratulations to Kayden Ames, Class C state champion in the discus (throwing) a personal record … with a distance of 143’11”,” said Scott. “It is also interesting to note that Kayden's throwing coach, (his) mom, was also a former state champion in the same event. Congrats to both for being a mother-son state champion duo!”

Josie Harrington took eighth in the 100m hurdles preliminary round in 17.82s and followed up in fifth for the main event in 17.25. Harrington placed 14th in the 300m hurdles in 55.22, sixth in the high jump with 4’8”, and 18th in shot put with 26’3.25”. Ava Schlosser took third in the 1600m race walk in 9:05.72 and Jaelyn Crocker tied for 14th in shot put with 26’5.5” and took 24th in discus with 67’2”.

The girls 4x100m and 4x400m relay teams took 21st and 24th in 1:05.25 and 5:12.95 respectively. The teams were made up of Schlosser, Emerson Harris, Grace Campbell and Maddie Orchard.

For the boys, Austin Trask took 12th in the 100m dash in 12.14s. Trask and Bryan Gagnon took 15th and 17th in the 200m dash in 24.6 and 24.81 respectively. Ryan Clark took 11th in the 800m run in 2:16.76.

Ames set a personal record and became Class C state champion in discus with 143’11”. Zach Rollins followed in sixth with 110’2”. Ames and Rollins took fifth and ninth in shot put with 39’11” and 38’3.5”.

The boys 4x100m, 4x400m and 4x800m relay teams placed seventh, third and fifth in 48.32, 3:46.63 and 9:05.25. The first team was composed of Gagnon, Tristan Pepe, Payton Blagdon and Trask; the second team, Henry Putnam, Trask, Blagdon and Gagnon; and the third team, Marshall Wall, Blagdon, Gagnon and Clark.