Lincoln County ‘Spirit of America’ recipients announced

Thu, 10/21/2021 - 6:00pm

    Fourteen Lincoln County groups or people are being recognized for their dedicated community service. County commissioners are sending letters and certificates commemorating them for their volunteer efforts as 2021 Spirit of America recipients.

    In past years, commissioners held a public ceremony in Wiscasset, but concerns about COVID-19 resulted in cancelling the public event in 2020 and 2021. The Maine Spirit of America Foundation has presented over 400 certificates statewide since 1991. The foundation is a 501(c) (3) public charity which encourages community volunteerism.

    Commissioners sought nominees from each county board of selectmen for this year’s recipients.

    In Boothbay, three veterans who established the group Veterans Emergency Temporary Shelter to aid homeless veterans received the nomination. John Hargreaves, Ed Harmon and Arthur Richardson are this year’s recipients.

    In Dresden, Allan Moeller Sr. is the recipient. He has served over a decade as selectman and road commissioner. In nominating Moeller, Dresden officials described him as “being known for giving people the opportunity to speak and treated their opinions with respect.”

    In Westport Island, selectmen nominated two recipients. Westport Island History Committee for advising selectmen “on the pursuit, preservation, and promotion of the island’s proud history and rich cultural heritage”; and Westport Island Wright House and Ferry Landing Committee for transforming the Wright property into a community landmark. 

    In Wiscasset, Ames True Value for “hosting charitable events annually which brings joy to folks of all ages.”

    In Bremen, Bremen Broadband Committee for past work in obtaining a $120,000 ConnectME grant and working toward a goal of bringing high-speed internet access to every home.

    In Bristol, Phil and Candy Congdon. Candy Congdon died in February and was the town correspondent for Lincoln County News. Phil Congdon is the broadband committee chairman.

    In Damariscotta, Jane Oliver-Gravel through her Main Street Grocery led a number of activities helping the Damariscotta community during the pandemic.

    In Jefferson, Marie and Jim Lindsey donated space at LeBarn for several community projects. Among the uses were a 14-week healthy meals program, Easter egg hunt, enchanted Christmas village, a book signing benefiting veterans, community yard sale, and raising funds for  the Jefferson Beautification Committee.

    In Newcastle, Brian Foote is a volunteer fireman. He served as finance committee chairman. Foote is a former select board chairman. 

    In Somerville, Somerville Fire Department was nominated for “being there for the town no matter what.”

    In South Bristol, Cecil Burnham and Ellen Shew were nominated. Burnham was a harbor committee member and also served as deputy harbor master. In 2004, he assumed the harbor master’s position. Shew has served as Rutherford Library’s head librarian since the late 1970s and served on the library’s executive board.

    In Whitefield, the Whitfield Library Volunteers were recognized for “being at the cornerstone of creating, organizing, and providing services at the library.”