Lincoln Theater

Classic Film Club enrollment has begun

Films of the 1930s will be featured
Posted:  Monday, March 11, 2019 - 3:15pm
Share: 

As the second season of Lincoln Theater’s Classic Film Club has just ended, the Theater has now opened enrollment for its third season which will “Celebrate the Thirties!”

For those who enjoy classic films, this is the perfect opportunity to experience them on the big screen. Members of the Classic Film Club choose the films, and enjoy the screenings held in the Damariscotta theater's historic hall.  While the showings are also open to the general public, film club members receive numerous additional benefits.

Still considered to be one of the greatest decades in Hollywood, the films of the 1930s allowed an escape from the Great Depression and rising political turmoil through comedies such as The Marx Brothers “Duck Soup” to the safe scares of “Dracula” and “King Kong.” The 1930s also saw the rise of some of the best-known performers in acting and film history. We have selected “30 from the Thirties” to be voted on by registering members. Those with the most votes will be brought to the Lincoln’s big screen.

Screenings begin in the fall and take place early each month on Thursday nights at 7 and Friday afternoons at 2.  The dates for the 2019-20 season are: Thursday, Oct. 3;  Friday, Oct. 4;  Thursday, Nov. 7;  Friday, Nov. 8; Thursday, Dec. 5;  Friday, Dec. 6; Thursday, Jan. 2; Friday, Jan. 3;  Thursday, Feb. 6;  Friday, Feb. 7;  Thursday, March 5 and Friday, March 6.

Membership, which is limited, costs $45 per person, and includes: participation in selecting the films; admission to six screenings; small popcorn and water at each film; glass of wine/beverage at each film; and more special surprises – a $102 value. Applications for season three of the Classic Film Club are available at the theater office and forms are also available for download through our website at www.lcct.org under the “movies” tab. Please call the theater office at 563-3424 with any questions.  Enrollment will remain open until the first of September or until the limit is reached.  Don’t miss out.