Wiscasset Speedway

Adam Chadbourne locks in sixth career championship

Tue, 09/20/2022 - 8:45am

The closing weeks of every race season can be intense for many drivers due to tight championship battles in each division. Wiscasset Speedway made it their mission to make Saturday’s Group #2 racing action fun as they hosted the second Fan Appreciation night of the season. The night, sponsored by Bozzuto’s Inc., featured a driver meet and greet session before the races followed by childrens bike races, where some drivers joined in on the fun. The Maine Mariners organization even made an appearance with their beloved mascot, Beacon. Mainely Motorsports host and LST Motorsports Park owner Steve Perry emceed the night while raising money for Special Olympics Maine. 

The racing portion of the evening kicked off with a 50-lap spotlight feature from the Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Models. Chris Burgess led the early charge in the feature but Wiscasset Speedway’s August driver of the month Will Collins was quickly maneuvering through the field, breaking the top 3 on lap 17. A mid-race caution on lap 21 brought the field back together and Collins continued his pursuit, overtaking Chris Burgess for the top spot just 8 laps later. 12-year-old Daniel Harding came to life in the closing laps of the feature, pulling to Will Collins’ back bumper with just 3 laps to go. Harding gave Collins a run for his money but Will Collins was able to overcome, picking up his fourth feature victory in five weeks. Ryan St. Clair finished strong, rounding out the podium. Josh St. Clair is a shoo-in for the championship with a 58 point deficit over Will Collins but the race is still on for second place as Will Collins holds a slim 4 point lead over Jett Decker with just one final race remaining in the 2022 season.

Jimmy Childs powered ahead with a sizable early lead in the 25-lap Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Mini feature. Childs continued to pull away in the closing laps of the feature as his competitors ignited a 3-way battle for the runner-up spot. The three drivers, Bryan Robbins, Kyle Willette and Jason Kimball tangled on the backstretch on lap 20 but were all able to hold onto it. Robbins ultimately won the battle, pulling away with the spot with just 5 laps to go. Jimmy Childs was long gone at this point, picking up his long awaited third win of the season. Bryan Robbins and Kyle Willette rounded out the top 3. With the win, Childs was also able to bite into Kyle Willette’s point lead, knocking it down to 22 points going into Championship night.

Josh St. Clair may have already wrapped up his championship in the Portland Glass Strictly Streets two weeks ago but there was still plenty of racing to be had on Saturday night in the division. Scott Eck won the first heat race and continued his dominance in the 25-lap feature, leading green to checkered and beating out Ashton Burgess and Jeremy Glazier to win his first career race at Wiscasset Speedway. Eck celebrated the momentous occasion with his wife, daughters and family in Victory Lane.

Ben Audet kept the firsts coming in the 20-lap T&L Automotive Roadrunners feature, quickly pulling to a full straightaway lead over Ken Turner. Audet was in his own zip code in the closing laps of the race, extending his lead to over five seconds. Audet held strong through the finish, picking up his first career Roadrunners victory. Ken Turner and Nicole Brown rounded out the podium.

Matty Sanborn took off with the early lead over Wayne Whitten, Jr. in the final race of the night; the 30-lap 88.5FM Modified feature. There was a 3-car breakaway early but Adam Chadbourne was able to break it up, winning a four way battle for fourth in the opening laps of the race before reeling in Ryan Hayes for third. While Matty Sanborn continued to pull away as the laps wound down, Adam Chadbourne still wasn’t done, overtaking Wayne Whitten, Jr. for the runner-up spot with 7 laps to go. Chadbourne began reeling in Matty Sanborn in the closing laps of the feature but was unable to seal the deal as Sanborn rolled into Victory Lane, celebrating his first Modified victory at Wiscasset Speedway. The win was bittersweet for Sanborn as it was his first victory without his late father by his side but he was warmly greeted by supportive friends, fans and family in Victory Lane who cheered on his momentous milestone. 

While Matty Sanborn celebrated his victory, Adam Chadbourne also had something to cheer about as he was able to lock in his fourth straight championship in the division. The title is Adam’s fourth in the Modifieds and sixth overall at Wiscasset Speedway, as he also holds two championship titles in the Super Streets. Chadbourne now ties Scott Chubbuck for second all-time championships at Wiscasset Speedway.

There are still two weeks remaining until the Group #2 season finale, but Wiscasset’s Group #1 divisions will wrap up their 2022 season this coming Saturday, Sept. 24. Grandstands open at 2 p.m. and the green flag flies at 3. As always, grandstand admission is just $5 for adults and free for kids 6 & under. 

For official results and more track information, please visit http://www.wiscassetspeedway.com.

Wiscasset Speedway is located on West Alna Road in Wiscasset.