Democratic Committee urges participation at caucuses March 4

Posted:  Friday, February 16, 2018 - 4:00pm

Democratic Caucuses are Sunday, March 4, Snow date March 11. The caucuses are a chance to meet local legislative and other candidates, get involved in a municipal committee, and become a delegate to the state Democratic Convention.

“Caucuses are an ideal opportunity for Democrats, and unenrolled voters who’ve decided it’s time to become a Democrat, to start working together for change,” said Chris Johnson, Lincoln County Democratic Committee Chair. “You can be elected as a delegate to the State Convention and shape the future of the Democratic Party.”

Johnson reminds everyone, “Local candidates need your signatures on nomination papers and your $5 contributions to the Clean Election Fund to help them qualify for funding, so bring your checkbook. Your Democratic municipal and county committees need you — this is not a time to stand on the sidelines.”

Step 1: Pre-register at

It will make your check-in much quicker and our processing of your caucus form simpler.

Step 2: Arrive at your caucus location when the doors open so you will have a chance to hear candidates and catch up with fellow Democrats. Caucus locations, times, towns meeting there, and their conveners are listed below. All caucuses are March 4.

Wiscasset Elementary School, 83 Federal St, Wiscasset

Opens 12:30 p.m., Starts 1 o,n,, Town Clerks should be there at or before 12:30.

Alna Anne Simpson 1 (207) 633-4406

Wiscasset Tom Eichler, ALT: Wendy Ross 1 (207) 882-7060

Boothbay Region High School*, 236 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor

Opens 1:30 p.m., Starts 2 p.m., Town Clerks should be there at or before 1:30.

Boothbay Stephen Gottlieb 1 (207) 633-6533

Boothbay Harbor Barbara Burt 1 (207) 318-6287

Edgecomb Jarryl Larson 1 (207) 882-5059

Southport Vernon Rail 1 (207) 633-9880

Westport Island Jeffery Tarbox 1 (207) 776-2015

*Disclaimer per BRHS policy: “This event is not sponsored by the Boothbay-Boothbay Harbor Region Community School District, nor does it necessarily represent the values and opinions of the Board of Trustees, or the community at large.”

Woolwich Central School, 137 Nequasset Rd, Woolwich

Opens 2 p.m., Starts 2:30 p.m., Dresden Town Clerk should be there at or before 2.

Dresden Steven Eagles 1 (207) 737-8023

Great Salt Bay School, 559 Main St, Damariscotta

Opens 2:30 p.m., Starts 3 p.m., Town Clerks should be there at or before 2:30.

Bremen Bennett Collins 1 (207) 529-2084

Damariscotta Dean Curran 1 (207) 380-5103

Newcastle Glenn Chadbourne 1 (207) 563-8031, ALT: Ellen Dickens

Nobleboro Bud Lewis 1 (207) 563-1433

Bristol Consolidated School, 2153 Bristol Rd (pemaquid), Bristol

Opens 3:30 p.m., Starts 4 p.m., Town Clerks should be there at or before 3:30.

Bristol John Fitzpatrick 1 (207) 677-2397

South Bristol Thomas Field 1 (207) 215-6455

Waldoboro Town Office, 1600 Atlantic Highway, Waldoboro

Opens 4:30 p.m., Starts 5 p.m., Town Clerk should be there at or before 4:30.

Waldoboro Sandra O'Farrell 1 (207) 832-7870

Jefferson Village School, 48 Washington Rd, Jefferson

Opens 5:30 p.m., Starts 6 p.m., Town Clerks should be there at or before 5:30.

Jefferson Bill Williamson 1 (207) 549-7857

Somerville Kelly Roopchand 1 (207) 549-3096

Whitefield Jim Torbert 1 (207) 549-3149

Monhegan Island Plantation TBD - If you would like to convene a caucus on Monhegan, contact Chris Johnson at 549-3358.